Current Members

Hardwood Next Wave supports athletes at the Elite Level of World Cup racing. Gunnar Holmgren and Dana Gilligan represent HNW at World Cup Mountain bike races and World Cup Cyclocross races. HNW is proud to have both these athletes participate with “Team Canada” projects from Australia to Europe and everywhere in between.

Dana Gilligan


I am a u23 cyclist from Craighurst, Ontario. I have been racing for over 7 years now, achieving a National Championship podium spot in nearly every race since 2015. Since I began CX back in 2015, I have been invited to every Cyclocross World Championships with Team Canada. I attended my first World Championships in 2017 for mountain biking. Along with many successful races, I achieved 2nd at the U23 Cyclocross National Championships in 2015 and 2018 and became the Junior National Individual Time Trial Champion in 2017.


I hope to continue to be a part of more world class races in hopes of one day attending the Olympics.

Gunnar Holmgren


I am a U23 cross-country mountain bike and cyclocross racer hailing from Orillia, Ontario, Canada. My parents introduced me to racing from an early age and I began training seriously in 2013. Since then I have competed in 5 World Championships across both disciplines. In 2016, I finished off the ‘cross season ranked as 2nd North American thanks to two UCI victories and multiple top ten results in Europe as a national champion. In 2017 I was top ranked North American lining up in the 6th spot at the World Championships in Australia. After two very busy years, my cross season took a hit in 2017 but not without a C1 top 15 and a 4th at Nationals. I raced the World Cup circuit in 2018 from the back row and landing consistent top 60 results passing more than 60 other racers. My standout ride came at the end of the season at the World championships where I raced from 97th place to 35th. The 2018 ‘cross season has been a great success thus far. I won the U23 National championship along with a 4th place at the Pan American Championships and three UCI C2 wins.


In 2019 I will pursue the World Cup circuit on the MTB and a full Cyclocross season including the North American circuit and a trip to Europe. Further ahead, I’m training for the 2024 Olympics in Paris

Ava Holmgren

Avery Gervais

Brett Lancaster

Colton Woods

Danny Hune

Ian Ackert

Isabella Holmgren

Katelyn Walcroft

Kelly Lawson

Matt Leliveld

Nick Sammon

Paul Mysko

Robin Horsfield

Rohan Metha

Sam Trumble

Sierra MacDonald

Troy von Svoboda

Will Smith

Andrew Burazin

Anna Vurma

Autumn Prior

Ben Brown

Benjamin Bergstrome

Calvin Love

Charlie DeVillers

Claire MacKinnon

Cody Love

Connor Rask

Doran Smith

Eddie Hewitt

Emily Jaenicke

Erik Vurma

Ewan Verheyen

Foxton Lankin

Harris Jaenicke

Holly Ryan

Johnathon Stones

Juliana Grant

Leighton Rowley

Liam Ryan

Lucas Norman

Milo Nixon

Nadine Ackert

Peyton Bonney

Reid MacKinnon

Rylee Kelly

Seth Kelly

Sophia Szafranski

Sydney Stones

Al Walcroft

Andrew Doble

Daniel Black

David Staples

Derek DeGannes

Derek Nay

Graham Fraser

Jasmin Aggarwal

Jason Vurma

Keith Richards

Kevin Simms

Kevin Young

Kirk McLean

Lisa Holmgren

Ludek Podhrasky

Marc Ackert

Matt Miller

Nathan Brown

Rob Holmgren

Rob Meeder

Rob Visser

Rod Mysko

Ryan Mitchell

Sarah Vurma

Steve DePiero